2016 Reading Challenge: Book 28

20910157

A memoir: Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Truth: I read this and pictured Leslie Knope’s voice in my head the entire time (if you haven’t watched the television show Parks & Recreation, stop now and binge watch all of the episodes. Then come back and maybe we can be friends). I loved how the entire reading experience felt like you were just hanging out with Amy having a casual conversation about life. I have read some reviews that this was a little like “improv” in written format and hard to follow. To that I say, you must not have read Faulkner and experienced stream of consciousness (noob). (Ok yes, that sounds snooty, but books are literally the ONLY thing I know more about than 99% of the world so let me have this one!) This memoir felt totally organic to me and while Amy “time travels” a bit everything circles back nicely and you get the full story by the time you finish the book.

Interestingly, I could not help comparing Tina Fey’s Bossypants to Amy’s book as I read. In terms of watching them perform, I think Amy is the better performer. Don’t get me wrong–I love Tina Fey and would totally spazz if I ever got to meet her. I think she is a genius. But I think Amy is funnier to watch. However, I think Tina was funnier to read. I read Bossypants on a plane and I laughed out loud so often that the stranger next to me thought I was a total weirdo. As soon as the plane landed, I called my dad and told him I was giving him my copy literally the second I landed and he had to read it. She is that funny. Amy’s book is also very funny, and it made me tear up at certain moments, and at other moments I was watching Youtube clips from the various scenes she mentions.

Overall, it was a lovely experience to climb inside Amy’s head and be friends for a little while. I am even more enamored of her now that I’ve read her memoirs. She is such a humble and endearing person and yet so talented and funny. I loved learning more about her. I also loved how she leaves off encouraging all of us to say “yes please” (in the true spirit of improv) a little more often in our lives because we never know where it will lead us.

About alycemsustko

Reader, writer, catmom extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Reading Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

