2016 Reading Challenge: Book 5

A Collection of short stories: Welcome to the Monkey House by Kurt Vonnegut

monkey

I am an avid lover of Vonnegut and this collection of his short stories did not disappoint. My father used to rave about how wonderful Vonnegut’s books were, and I, like a typical teenager ignored him. What could my father POSSIBLY know about literature! Then, for some unknown reason I decided to cave and read it during my senior year of college. I read Slaughterhouse V and it changed my life. Seriously. If you haven’t ever read it, I insist you go read it now and come back.

All set? OK. Let’s continue.

In general, I am not a fan of the short story. I prefer a novel because I like the depth a writer can get into with a novel, so I often shy away from short stories (with the exception of David Sedaris, another genius). However, this is Vonnegut we are talking about, so I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that I would love these stories. They were, of course, beautifully written, hilarious and heartbreaking even with just a few pages per story. Vonnegut can do in a short story what some of the best authors can do with an entire novel. It’s part of what makes him, well…Vonnegut.

There were a few “classics” in this collection that I had read before and love dearly, but many stories I had never encountered before. I recommend this as an addition to any Vonnegut lover’s library. I’m sure you could track these stories down individually but it was great to have them all in one collection.

About alycemsustko

Reader, writer, catmom extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Reading Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

