2015 Reading Challenge

I am so excited to share with you one of the most fun adventures of my year! Last December, I saw a Facebook post a friend shared about reading 50 books in 2015. The challenge gave a list of different types of books to read, challenging even the most diligent reader. I had a blast picking out the different titles and setting my plan into motion. I have to admit, I may have bitten off a little more than I could chew with some of the titles I chose (think: Finnegan’s Wake AND Hawaii in one year?!) so I am not sure if I will actually complete all 50 of my chosen works by December 31 this year, but it was surely an excellent motivator to keep reading and to challenge myself with books that I normally wouldn’t have picked up. I plan to continue the challenge next year with 50 brand new titles and I can’t wait to share them all with you! (I know–I haven’t even finished this year’s challenge and I’m already ready for 2016. Crazy!)

I’ve been documenting my list on Goodreads.com (a truly excellent website if you’re into books) and reviewing each title as I finish. It also calculates how far into my goal I am (at the time of this posting, I’m hovering right at 80% completion) and all other sorts of neat things.  I plan on sharing each title and review as I move throughout the 2016 challenge, so look out for more posts in the very near future. For now, I am collecting the titles I will be reading next year (many I am accessing from my local public library, or I have them on my Kindle or I own them in hard copy). So far my apartment looks a little bit like this:

igloo_frontview1

Happy Reading!

About alycemsustko

Reader, writer, catmom extraordinaire
This entry was posted in News & Events and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

