Horrorfest: Hellraiser

Hellraiser…what the hell? I can say, without hyperbole, that this was one of the most bizarre movies I have ever seen. Don’t get me wrong–it was terrifying–but even at the end of the film, I found myself scratching my head going “What the BLEEP did I just watch?!” I honestly couldn’t tell you that majority of what this movie is about. In the simplest of reviews, I’d have to say a very disturbed man locates a portal into another dimension–presumably, hell–and meets with several self-proclaimed demon/angels who show him immense pleasure and pain. This play time destroys his corporeal body, and the only thing that can restore his physical form is blood from human sacrifices. His ex-mistress discovers his wasted form and she beings luring men into the house as sacrifices to restore his body. Ultimately, his secret is discovered and he is sent back to hell.

Although this movie was weird as hell and difficult to follow, it was visually disgusting and perfect for a horror film. It has all the viscera and gore you’d hope for in a horror flick. The scenes in which Frank’s gooey, drippy body is being restored are particularly grotesque (not the mention the scene where he puts his fleshless finger into his lover’s mouth. Ugh!). I think the shock value really lies in the graphic violence and gory scenes throughout.

About alycemsustko

Reader, writer, catmom extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Scholarly Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

