Thesis defense 2013–Exploring Pottermania: the Post-Modern Sacred in American Mass Culture

Thesis defense

Well everyone, I’m happy to report that I have completed the scariest milestone in my graduate school experience: the thesis defense. But to be honest, it really wasn’t that scary at all. It was actually pretty fun. I mean, how many opportunities do you get in life to stand up and talk about Harry Potter for thirty minutes? And people HAVE to listen to you! It feels pretty great to share your ideas with people. I’m very thankful to have this experience, because now I feel like I can talk about anything in front of anyone. Having to defend your intellectual work (that you’ve spent 10 months intricately working on) is probably one of the scariest and most rewarding experiences a person can have, so I feel lucky to have done this. If you’re curious as to how the defense went, I’ve embedded the youtube clip here. Just make sure you turn the sound way up because the camera was pretty far away, so the sound quality isn’t the best.

About alycemsustko

Reader, writer, catmom extraordinaire
This entry was posted in News & Events, Research Essay and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

